The “Official” Jedielf Blog

My public blog

Watchmen 7/4/09

leave a comment »

It was a bit of a punt, asking Mum and Dad to let me borrow the car to go see Watchmen alone at Hurstville at night, but it was worth it, because it was the only way I could enjoy Cheap Tuesdays without slacking off on co-babysitting duties. Also, my parents hate going to the cinema. They think everything is too loud.

I don’t understand why Alan Moore disowned this movie. This looks to be a pretty faithful adaptation of the graphic novel, with a few bits and pieces neatly summed up in the opening credits. The main part that I see missing is the pirate comic, which I also thought detracted from the plot a little in the novel.

There’s no change in setting – the movie is still set in an alternate 1985, but the only things that really characterise the era are only in a few hairstyles, most of them on TV screens. The tones, colour-wise and story-wise, are dark, so it’s probably better for the post-movie daze if you watch it at night or on a drizzly day. Sunlight might blind you a little bit more than usual.

Acting: I like how there were no Names in the cast, though many a TV fan would recognise Jeffrey Dean Morgan as the Comedian. He is a very good-looking bad-“good” guy. The performances are consistent across the cast. My personal favourites are Jackie Earl Haley as the slightly-demented loner Rorschach and Matthew Goode as the polished high-flyer Adrian Veidt, even though he lets his accent slip a bit.

The only thing I really didn’t like about my viewing of the movie was the couple who were sitting behind me. They spoke a bit, yes. Also: readers, don’t put your feet on the seat in front of you, especially if there is someone in that row. Not only is it an unhygienic habit, you can feel it down the row.

Written by jedielf

April 10, 2009 at 4:37 pm

Posted in movies

Leave a Reply

