The “Official” Jedielf Blog

My public blog

“The desire to get laid is kind of the motivation for the universe.”

leave a comment »

I recently found a very interesting podcast that’s all about screenwriting. Yesterday I downloaded the eighty-second episode, and each episode is almost between half an hour and fifty minutes long, so if I downloaded all the eps and then kept downloading new ones regularly, I’ll eventually end up spending more time listening to this podcast than to scripwriting lectures at uni. To download the podcast, go to: http://www.onthepage.tv. The main person behind it, Pilar Alessandra, also does classes and script consultations, but I think most of my readers would only be able to get the DVDs!

On a screenwriting note, I’m not sure if my current project would be better as a script. I find that with a lot of projects I embark on, I’ll start writing a novel before deciding to re-write the whole thing as a screenplay a few chapters in. Then after a bit more work, “Hmm, this is turning out a bit like a novel … ” and so on. I also think I’m more of a screenplay person, because dialogue seems to come more easily to me than anything else, and I’m probably a lot more savvy with TV and movies than with books. Hopefully that will be evened out in the next few months. Lately I’ve actually been finishing books rather than leaving them off halfway through and having to return them to the library because they’ve already been renewed once.

One of the books I’ve borrowed is Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf, which really isn’t my kind of book. I picked it up anyway, because even though I did three years in Creative Writing, I’ve never of my own free will chosen to read something I’ve considered purely literary. Alongside this is The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood and The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I’ll report on these books as soon as I’ve finished reading them. As for now, I’ve got to get today’s bit of jobhunting done.

Love you lots,

j

Written by jedielf

April 7, 2009 at 2:54 pm

Posted in books, tv, writing

Leave a Reply

