The “Official” Jedielf Blog

My public blog

“Well, instead of the Stalinist purges and the divorce and the investigation, erm, it could be about … losing a balloon.”

leave a comment »

I’ve typed up a few paragraphs of my archaeology/sci-fi project here and there, but today I’ve mostly been doing a lot of procrastinating and scribbling down something resembling a plot outline for this thing. And when I say “procrastinate,” I really mean “net surf” — even with my download speed cut down to 64kbps for the rest of my billing month, I haven’t found the willpower to close that stupid browser window. I will soon, because I’m really getting tired of websites loading at such a (lack of) speed. It’s entirely my fault too, because I wasted all that quota downloading episodes of Jonathan Creek and Dollhouse. Now there’s also series three of Robin Hood, as well as the eagerly-awaited special episode of Doctor Who coming up next week.

Another thing that has started to take up an ever-growing poriton of my bandwidth usage every month is my occassional viewing of webseries. Recently, the inaugural Streamy Awards, which recognise achievements in this field, were held in LA. A whole swag of these little trophies were won by two of my favourites, The Guild and Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog. I follow a few of the cast and crew of The Guild, as well as keep updates on Dr. Horrible-related things, on Twitter. DH was written as a low-budget project to keep people working throughout the writer’s strike in the US, and Felicia Day started writing The Guild to do what I’m trying to do at the moment — to sit down on her arse and write something.

Since the web series is a relatively new medium, there isn’t really any established format. The current trend seems to be that you have a few episodes per series, with each episode lasting anywhere from two to fifteen minutes.

So, I’ve been thinking, “Maybe I could write a web series.” A couple of episodes of several minutes is cinch, right?

Nuh-uh. I keep getting reminded of that episode of Black Books where Manny and Bernard try to write a children’s book in one night. They keep moving their hands to try and start to write something, but the pencils don’t touch the paper. Also, I think it was Steven Moffat who once said that for him, the shorter a project is, the harder it is. You need an interesting story that you need to compress into a tiny runtime. That takes more cutting than your “average-length” stuff.

Still, a webseries seem to be a great idea for writers who are short on cash, have some connections and are desperate to do something!

I don’t have any ideas for a webseries yet, LOL.

Love,

j

Written by jedielf

April 4, 2009 at 10:08 pm

Posted in webseries, writing

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

